Discover our new packaging - even more environmentally friendly - 100% recyclable paper

The Origin of our Cacaos

Our family business Finca Cuyancua is located in Atecozol, Izalco, El Salvador, a municipality of Sonsonate, at an altitude of 400 meters above sea level. We are close to many waterways and a small stream crosses the farm and fills the reservoir that we use for irrigation.

Originally we grew coffee and in the early 2000's JuanRa's father Rafael began to diversify into cacao cultivation and founded a cooperative of cacao growers. He took the initiative to set up a cacao tree nursery and convert the old coffee mill into a modern post-harvest facility where the cacao from all the cacao farmers in the cooperative is fermented and dried to achieve the best possible quality of  beans. Over the years, we have held many seminars on correct agricultural practices at the different stages of cacao cultivation, from planting and grafting to pruning and harvesting.

Aside from helping plant some of the trees that produce these delicious beans, we feel very connected to this farm because of all the wonderful learning experiences we've had here. This is where our first encounter with the magical plant Theobroma cacao took place, and JuanRa has treasured family memories of weekend trips to the finca with his grandparents and father since he was very young. Trinitario Acriollado and Criollo cacao trees, confirmed by DNA testing, now grow under the canopy of the tropical rainforest, along with other plants such as mango, banana, star apple, avocado, orange, tropical flowers, vanilla and cinnamon.

Also interesting is the fact that the region where the farm is located was an indigenous settlement thousands of years ago. Walking or working on the site, one can easily find carved obsidian artefacts and small shards of pottery left by the people who lived here before us.

Sensory analysis of the cacao:

Smell: rum, slightly sweet, with notes of chocolate and caramel.

Flavor profile: Initially intense, dark, earthy flavors evolve into green and floral notes reminiscent of orange blossom and jasmine.

 

Tlaloc Ceremonial Cacao comes from a single estate, Finca Parras Lempa, located at 40 meters above sea level in El Salvador's lush valley of the Lempa River in the municipality of San Vicente. A smaller river called the Acahuapa flows through the farmland, irrigating the cacao, coconut, and plantain crops. We love the subtle flavor of the cacao that grows in this fertile land, laced with life-giving water. That's why we named the cacao Tlaloc, after the god of water worshiped by the Aztecs and Maya.

A team of seven and a supervisor take care of the daily tasks on the farm. After harvesting the cacao, a cross between Trinitario and Acriollado varieties, the cacao is fermented and dried on site to ensure the best possible quality. Benedicto, whose family owns the property, is one of several co-founders of a local  growers' cooperative of which we are a member and with which we have worked since the beginning of our cacao and chocolate projects. It is a pleasure to witness firsthand their hard work over the years and an honor to be the first to popularize and share our dear friend Benedicto's specialty cacao outside of El Salvador with the rest of the world.

Sensory analysis of the cacao:

Aroma: Mild, with notes of citrus fruit, sweet caramel and dates.

Flavor Profile: Initially rich chocolate kick that evolves into earthier flavors with citrus notes. Pronounced nutty aromas and a chocolatey finish.

 

Cacao cultivation at Finca San Fernando only started a few years ago, thanks to the advocacy of VAICACAO co-founder JuanRa. When JuanRa explained to one of the farm owners the environmental and economic benefits of growing cacao trees compared to other crops, the farmer was inspired to join the local cacao cooperative and start growing fine Trinitario Acriollado cacao. He quickly developed the plantation into one of the most consistent producers of fine cacao in El Salvador. A team of six people works on the finca using modern and technologically advanced methods.

San Fernando is located at 670 meters above sea level on the edge of the gently rolling Cordillera del Balsamo mountain range in Ateos, municipality of Sacacoyo, in the department of La Libertad. The cacao trees here grow amidst fragrant mahogany and cedar trees, as well as a native white cedar called the volador. We are proud to be the first exporter of this cacao from El Salvador and to offer it to the world with our Ceremonial Cacao Atehuàn, which we have named after the historic pre-Columbian name of this beautiful region.

Sensory analysis of the cacao:

Nose: Soft notes of sweet vanilla fudge, cream and toffee.

Flavor profile: Quite dark in taste at the beginning, then a strong sweetness. Subtle sweet and sour plum aromas. Bitter finish.

 

We make our Masaya cacao from the delicious beans of the La Campesina cooperative, an organization of cacao smallholders in Nicaragua's central Matagalpa region. More than 400 producers cultivate these nutty cacao beans with well-rounded flavors on a total of 915 hectares in Matiguas, Rio Blanco and Muy Muy. The cooperative takes care of the delicate fermentation and drying processes in different harvesting centers and offers its farmers agricultural support to ensure optimal quality of the beans.

We met some of the then board members at a regional workshop in 2014 and have since become fans of their great work and their delicious organic certified Trinitario cacao.

Sensory analysis of the cacao:

Aroma: Soft, sweet, with subtle notes of bread and fermentation.

Flavor Profile: Initial nutty notes that progress to earthier flavors, with hints of wood and bitter walnut. Some nutty tartness on the finish, with aromas of soft green banana.


The beans for ours Q'eqchi' cacao comes from the depths of the Guatemalan rainforest. FEDECOVERA, an amalgamation of more than 40 cooperatives, which belong to around 31,000 Qʼeqchiʼ and Pocomchi farmers. The association is one of Guatemala's leading reforestation organizations and they are recognised worldwide for their production of organic cardamom. Since 1976 they have set a good example and offered their farmers a way to improve their living conditions, while protecting their culture and ecosystem.

Farming families produce and export diversified crops which range from cacao to coffee, cardamom, pepper, and turmeric, across the Mayan rainforest canopy of northern Guatemala. Their delicious cacaos are certified organic and consist of a blend of criollo and trinitario strains.


aroma and Flavor profile: Ripe cherries, vanilla and cardamom



Nahua is Costa Rica's leading fine flavor single origin cacao provider, with a strong social mission of improving farmer livelihoods and conserving the environment. The organization is B-Corp certified and works directly with local farming families to grow some of the best trinitario hybrid cacaos available. We rely on their diligent work in handling the crucial post-harvest processes, which ensure the very best outcome for these flavorful beans.

Nahua is made up of a network of 430 smallholder cacao farming families, in an area of ​​800 acres across Guatuso and Upala in the northern part of the country, between the Caño Negro Wildlife Reserve and the Cordillera de Guanacaste mountain range. This area is named for the region's original inhabitants, an indigenous tribe known as the Maleku, who still reside in the area.

Nahua founder Juan Pablo has been an active pioneer and mentor not only locally in Costa Rica, but also throughout Central America's cacao farming community, by sharing his experience at regional seminars and through ongoing friendly advice. We have expanded our knowledge of agricultural practices thanks to him, and have also benefited from his excellent example of how to create added value to the cacao crops by transforming the magical fruits of the cacao trees into top quality sustainable products.

Flavor profile: Nahua is very balanced, characterized by strong cacao notes, yellow fruits, and warm and full cherry flavors, combined with a subtle hint of grapefruit and full-bodied caramel notes.



Hacienda San Jose del Real de La Carrera is nestled on the mangroves of Jiquilisco Bay in Usulutan Province on El Salvador's southeast Pacific coast, a region known for its rich and fertile soil. The cacao trees here were planted more than half a century ago and had been left unattended for a time due to the civil war and government-enacted land reform. Today, younger generations have made tremendous efforts to save these abandoned plantations.

The area where the cacao is grown is 25 meters above sea level and is surrounded by mango and coconut palms, as well as banana and sugar cane plantations.

We named this cacao Lenca, after a Mesoamerican indigenous people who had a thriving culture for centuries prior to the Spanish invasion, had frequent contact with the Maya and other groups, and survive and thrive to this day.

Aroma and Flavor Profile: Dried fruits, bananas, earthy and nutty notes.

Herkunft unseres Kakaos

Unser Familienbetrieb Finca Cuyancua befindet sich in Atecozol, Izalco, El Salvador, einer Gemeinde von Sonsonate, auf einer Höhe von 400 Metern über dem Meeresspiegel. Wir befinden uns in der Nähe vieler Wasserwege, und ein kleiner Bach durchquert die Farm und füllt das Reservoir, das wir zur Bewässerung nutzen.

Ursprünglich bauten wir Kaffee an, und in den frühen 2000er Jahren begann JuanRas Vater Rafael, den Kakaoanbau zu diversifizieren und gründete eine Kooperative von Kakaoproduzenten. Er ergriff die Initiative, eine Kakaobaumschule aufzubauen und die alte Kaffeemühle in eine moderne Nachernteeinrichtung umzuwandeln, in der der Kakao aller Kakaobauern der Kooperative fermentiert und getrocknet wird, um die bestmögliche Qualität der Bohnen zu erreichen. Im Laufe der Jahre haben wir viele Seminare über korrekte landwirtschaftliche Praktiken in den verschiedenen Phasen des Kakaoanbaus abgehalten, von der Pflanzung und Veredelung bis hin zum Beschneiden und Ernten.

Abgesehen davon, dass wir bei der Pflanzung einiger der Bäume geholfen haben, die diese köstlichen Bohnen hervorbringen, sind wir diesem Betrieb wegen all der wunderbaren Lernerfahrungen, die wir hier gemacht haben, sehr verbunden. Hier fand unsere erste Begegnung mit der magischen Pflanze Theobroma Cacao statt, und JuanRa hat wertvolle Familienerinnerungen an die Wochenendausflüge mit seinen Großeltern und seinem Vater auf die Finca, seit er ganz klein war. Unter den Baumkronen des tropischen Regenwaldes wachsen nun Kakaobäume der Sorte Trinitario Acriollado und Criollo, die durch DNA-Tests bestätigt wurden, zusammen mit anderen Pflanzen wie Mango, Banane, Sternapfel, Avocado, Orangen, tropischen Blumen, Vanille und Zimt.

Interessant ist auch die Tatsache, dass die Region, in der sich der Bauernhof befindet, vor Tausenden von Jahren eine indigene Siedlung war. Bei einem Spaziergang oder bei der Arbeit auf dem Gelände kann man leicht geschnitzte Gegenstände aus Obsidian und kleine Tonscherben finden, die von den Menschen hinterlassen wurden, die vor uns hier lebten.

Sensorische Analyse des Kakaos:

Geruch: Rum, leicht süßlich, mit Noten von Schokolade und Karamell.

Geschmacksprofil: Anfangs intensive, dunkle, erdige Aromen mit einer vordergründigen Bitterkeit. Die Geschmacksnoten entwickeln sich zu grünen und blumigen Noten, die an Orangenblüten und Jasmin erinnern.

 

Der Zeremonieller Kakao von Tlaloc stammt von einem einzigen Landgut, der Finca Parras Lempa, die in El Salvadors üppigem Tal des Flusses Lempa in der Gemeinde San Vicente auf 40 Metern Höhe liegt. Ein kleinerer Fluss namens Acahuapa fließt durch das Ackerland und bewässert die Kakao-, Kokosnuss- und Kochbananenernte. Wir lieben den feinen Geschmack des Kakaos, der in diesem fruchtbaren, von lebensspendendem Wasser durchzogenen Land wächst. Deshalb haben wir den Kakao Tlaloc genannt, nach dem von den Azteken und Maya verehrten Gott des Wassers.

Ein siebenköpfiges Team und ein Supervisor kümmern sich um die täglichen Aufgaben auf der Farm. Nach der Ernte des Kakaos, einer Kreuzung aus Trinitario- und Acriollado-Sorten, wird der Kakao vor Ort fermentiert und getrocknet, um die bestmögliche Qualität zu gewährleisten. Benedicto, dessen Familie das Anwesen gehört, ist einer von mehreren Mitbegründern einer lokalen Kooperative von Kakaoproduzenten, in der auch wir Mitglied sind und mit der wir seit Beginn unserer Kakao- und Schokoladenprojekte zusammenarbeiten. Es ist uns eine Freude, ihre harte Arbeit im Laufe der Jahre aus erster Hand mitzuerleben, und es ist uns eine Ehre, die Kakaospezialität unseres lieben Freundes Benedicto als erster außerhalb El Salvadors bekannt zu machen und mit dem Rest der Welt zu teilen.

Sensorische Analyse des Kakaos:

Aroma: Sehr mild, mit Noten von subtiler Milchschokolade, süßem Karamell und Datteln.

Geschmacksprofil: Anfangs reichhaltiger Schokoladenkick, der sich zu erdigeren Aromen mit subtilen Pilznoten entwickelt. Im Abgang ausgeprägte nussige Aromen und ein schokoladiger Nachgeschmack.

 

Der Kakaoanbau auf der Finca San Fernando begann erst vor einigen Jahren, dank der Fürsprache des VAICACAO-Mitbegründers JuanRa. Als JuanRa einem der Farmbesitzer die ökologischen und wirtschaftlichen Vorteile des Anbaus von Kakaobäumen im Vergleich zu anderen Nutzpflanzen erläuterte, wurde der Landwirt inspiriert, der örtlichen Kakao-Kooperative beizutreten und mit dem Anbau von feinem Trinitario Acriollado-Kakao zu beginnen. Er entwickelte die Plantage schnell zu einem der beständigsten Produzenten von Kakao in El Salvador. Ein Team von sechs Personen arbeitet auf der Finca mit modernen und technologisch fortschrittlichen Methoden.

San Fernando liegt auf 670 Metern über dem Meeresspiegel am Rande der sanft geschwungenen Bergkette Cordillera del Balsamo in Ateos, Gemeinde Sacacoyo, im Departement La Libertad. Die Kakaobäume wachsen hier inmitten von duftenden Mahagoni- und Zedernbäumen sowie einer einheimischen weißen Zeder namens Volador. Wir sind stolz darauf, der erste Exporteur dieses Kakaos aus El Salvador zu sein und ihn der Welt mit unserem Ceremonial Cacao Atehuàn anzubieten, den wir nach dem historischen präkolumbianischen Namen dieser schönen Region benannt haben.

Sensorische Analyse des Kakaos:

Aroma: Sanfte Noten von süßem Vanille-Fudge, Sahne und Toffee.

Geschmacksprofil: Zu Beginn recht dunkel im Geschmack, dann eine starke Süße. Subtile süß-saure Pflaumenaromen. Bitterer Abgang.

 

Wir stellen unseren Masaya-Kakao aus den wohlschmeckenden Bohnen der Kooperative La Campesina her, einer Organisation von Kakao-Kleinbauern in Nicaraguas zentraler Region Matagalpa. Mehr als 400 Produzenten kultivieren diese nussigen Kakaobohnen mit abgerundeten Aromen auf einer Gesamtfläche von 915 Hektar in Matiguas, Rio Blanco und Muy Muy. Die Kooperative kümmert sich um die heiklen Fermentations- und Trocknungsprozesse in verschiedenen Erntezentren und bietet ihren Bauern landwirtschaftliche Unterstützung, um eine optimale Qualität der Bohnen zu gewährleisten.

Wir haben einige der Mitglieder des damaligen Vorstands bei einem regionalen Workshop im Jahr 2014 kennengelernt und sind seither Fans ihrer großartigen Arbeit und ihres köstlichen bio-zertifizierten Trinitario-Kakaos geworden.

Sensorische Analyse des Kakaos:

Aroma: Sanft, süß, mit subtilen Brot- und Fermentationsnoten.

Geschmacksprofil: Anfänglich nussige Noten, die sich zu erdigeren Aromen entwickeln, mit leichten Noten von Holz und bitterer Walnuss. Im Abgang etwas nussige Herbheit, mit Aromen von weicher grüner Banane.


Die Bohnen für unseren Q'eqchi‘-Kakao stammen aus den Tiefen des guatemaltekischen Regenwaldes von FEDECOVERA, einem Zusammenschluss von mehr als 40 Kooperativen, denen rund 31.000 Qʼeqchiʼ- und Pocomchi-Bauern angehören. Der Verband ist eine der führenden Aufforstungsorganisationen in Guatemala und weltweit für seine Produktion von Bio-Kardamom bekannt. Seit 1976 gehen sie mit gutem Beispiel voran und bieten den Bauern eine Möglichkeit, ihre Lebensbedingungen zu verbessern und gleichzeitig ihre Kultur und ihr Ökosystem zu schützen.

Die Bauernfamilien produzieren und exportieren in den Maya-Regenwäldern im Norden Guatemalas eine breite Palette von Produkten, die von Kakao über Kaffee bis hin zu Kardamom, Pfeffer und Kurkuma reichen. Ihr köstlicher Kakao ist biologisch zertifiziert und besteht aus einer Mischung von Criollo- und Trinitario-Sorten.

Aroma- und Geschmacksprofil: Reife Kirschen, Vanille und Kardamom



Nahua ist der führende Anbieter von Edelkakao in Costa Rica, der sich für die Verbesserung der Lebensbedingungen der Bauern und die Erhaltung der Umwelt einsetzt. Die Organisation ist als B-Corp zertifiziert und arbeitet direkt mit lokalen Bauernfamilien zusammen, um einige der besten Trinitario-Hybrid-Kakaosorten anzubauen. Wir verlassen uns auf ihre sorgfältige Arbeit bei der Abwicklung der entscheidenden Nachernteprozesse, die das beste Ergebnis für diese geschmackvollen Bohnen gewährleisten.

Nahua besteht aus einem Netzwerk von 430 kleinbäuerlichen Kakaoanbauernfamilien in einem Gebiet von 800 Hektar in Guatuso und Upala im Norden des Landes, zwischen dem Caño Negro Wildlife Reserve und der Bergkette Cordillera de Guanacaste. Dieses Gebiet ist nach den ursprünglichen Bewohnern der Region benannt, einem indigenen Stamm, der als Maleku bekannt ist und noch immer in diesem Gebiet lebt.

Der Nahua-Gründer Juan Pablo war nicht nur in Costa Rica, sondern auch in der gesamten mittelamerikanischen Welt des Kakaoanbaus ein aktiver Pionier und Mentor, der seine Erfahrungen auf regionalen Seminaren und durch ständige freundliche Beratung weitergab. Dank ihm konnten wir unser Wissen über landwirtschaftliche Praktiken erweitern und haben auch von seinem hervorragenden Beispiel profitiert, wie man einen Mehrwert für die Kakaopflanzen schafft, indem man die magischen Früchte der Kakaobäume in hochwertige, nachhaltige Produkte verwandelt.

Geschmacksprofil: Nahua ist sehr ausgewogen und zeichnet sich durch kräftige Kakaonoten, gelbe Früchte und warme und volle Kirscharomen aus, kombiniert mit einem subtilen Hauch von Grapefruit und vollmundigen Karamellnoten.